Three Candidates File To Run For 2017 School Board Election

At the deadline of 4 p.m. this afternoon, only three (3) residents filed to run for this year’s school board election.

In contrast to last year which had eight candidates file, this year will have three residents running for three open seats. Only one of the three candidates – Christopher Miller – is a current Board Of Education (BOE) member. Neither board members Rodric Bowman nor Jeof Vita filed with the Union County Clerk’s office by today’s deadline.

The three candidates are:

  • Chad Hemenway
  • Matthew Leingang
  • Christopher Miller

Matthew Leingang is running again having been a candidate in last year’s BOE election. Chad Hemenway is a first-time candidate.

Unless there is a write-in campaign that successfully garners an eligible Roselle Park resident more votes than any of the official candidates, all three men will be serving on the Board in 2018. Roselle Park’s Board Of Education has three seats up for election every year.

The school board election is the same day as the general election which is Tuesday, November 7, 2017.