RPHS Softball Team Recognized For Its NJSIAA North 2, Group 1 Championship

The Roselle Park High School (RPHS) Softball Team was recognized at the June 13th Board Of Education (BOE) meeting for its NJSIAA North 2, Group 1 Championship.

RPHS Assistant Principal/Athletic Director James Foy introduced the team and provided background on this year’s season. It is the second year in a row the RPHS Softball Team achieved the Group 1, Sectional 2 Championship. The team’s overall record was 17-10 going undefeated in their division. This year Roselle Park beat Somerset Tech, Weehawken, Ridgefield, and Brearley in the tournament, losing only to Cedar Grove, who eventually went on to become the Group 1 Championship.

Mr. Foy stated during his comments to those in attendance, “In my opinion, if we would have got by Cedar Grove and played Metuchen in the finals, I think we’d be the Group 1 champs right now but it didn’t happen that way unfortunately. But nevertheless they had a great year.”

The team was coached by Fran Maggio, assisted by Jill Bury. The team’s statistician was Rene Perez.

Members of the Roselle Park High School Softball Team recognized were:

  • Nicole Badillo
  • Angelina Chacon
  • Alexis Cieslinski
  • Emma Cieslinski
  • Madison Cieslinski
  • Dara Czernikowski
  • Merissa Gilic
  • Melisa Gjokaj
  • Samantha Graves
  • Madison Hummel
  • Paige Junior
  • Erin Kennedy
  • Sarah Lippin
  • Meaghan Mooney
  • Hailey Ortega
  • Emily Peres
  • Gabrielle Scott