RPFAS Members Recognized For Achievements In Serving The Community

The Roselle Park Fist Aid Squad (RPFAS) was recognized for various achievements their members achieved at the July 2016 Mayor & Council meeting. Before presenting the awards, Mayor Carl Hokanson stated to those in attendance, “Our First Aid Squad has been there for you, me, and for everybody and it saves the taxpayers a ton of money . . . It’s overwhelming what they do – the training, the time, the effort that they put into this town to make you and I safe.”

Mayor Hokanson, along with Fifth Ward Councilman and First Aid liaison Thomas ‘Thos’ Shipley, presented certificates of Recognition with the assistance of RPFAS Chief Glen Costello.

The first certificates presented were for years of service and they included:

  • Gerard McEntee (35 years)
  • Joseph Alfano (25 years)
  • Kerry Dawe (15 years)
  • Richard Lonecke (10 years)
  • Kristin Simmonds (10 years)
  • Joey Regan (5 years)

“Once a year we award for an outstanding individual, an EMT in the First Aid Squad, who goes beyond providing services to the First Aid Squad and helping our members,” stated Captain Costello, “That award was given to Joseph Alfano.”

There were also service awards for the outstanding amount of calls (over 100) which RPFAS members answered in Roselle Park during 2015. Those recipients were:

  • Kymm Balinth Regan (470 calls)
  • Paul Oehler (270 calls)
  • Steven Smith (270 calls)
  • Glen Costello (120 calls)
  • Moise Joseph (113 calls
  • Joey Regan (108 calls)

Kymm and Steven were both on a first aid calls during the presentation so they could not attend to accept their certificates.

Cadets Of The Year awards were presented to Joshua Latorre, Joshua Olazzo, and Joshua Regan.

“We have a large cadet unit,” Glen said, “Once a year – down in Keyport New Jersey – the Keyport First Aid Squad hosts a cadet competition. The cadet competition is made up of over 25 different teams, three that come out of New York and Josh Regan and Josh Olazzo both competed in the Cadet Competition and they had placed second and fourth.”

James Slattery was recognized as EMT Of The Year.

CPR Saves were awarded to Kymm Balinth-Regan, Glen Costello, and Moise Joseph.

After presenting the certificates, Chief Costello remarked, “The First Aid Squad continues to stay strong. We still continue to look for people to join. It does get difficult sometimes because of the volume of calls. We try to handle it the best we can and we’ll continue to keep going. We’re always looking for members to join our cause to help us and the town. Thank you.

Kevin Murphy, a former member of the First Aid Squad as well as being the RPFAS liaison when he was the First Ward Councilman in 2002, presented the squad with a Guardian Angel Award from Operation Chillout for their assistance and support of helping homeless veterans and their families in New Jersey.

Anyone interested in finding out information about joining the First Aid Squad can contact the RPFAS by calling (908) 245-3470.