Ordinance 2537: Recreation Committee Residency Requirement

Ordinance 2537 has added a section that requires any member of the Recreation Committee be a resident of the borough.

The proposed law was brought up by Second Ward Councilman Joseph Petrosky as a workshop discussion topic. During the workshop, the councilman stated that there was no existing problem with nonresidency but that it was a preventative measure.

It is the only change to Chapter II, Section IV, Section 2-39.2 of the codebook.

The Recreation Committee is composed of seven members which are appointed by the mayor for a five-year term. There are two additional alternates who can participate in discussions of proceedings but may not vote except in the absence or disqualification of a regular member.

The public hearing and vote by the governing body for Ordinance 2537 is set to occur during the 7 p.m. municipal meeting on Thursday, July 19th. The meeting will be at 110 East Westfield Avenue (borough hall).

A copy of Ordinance 2537 is available below:

Download RP Ordinance 2537