Two BOE Members Give Their Goodbyes To The Board

After a closed session at the December 5th Board Of Education (BOE) meeting, the two outgoing members – Rodric Bowman and Jeofrey Vita – took the opportunity to offer their closing thoughts publicly. Although there is one board meeting left on the calendar for 2017, a poll was taken earlier in the evening to see if there were any pressing matters on the horizon that would require the December 19th meeting. The consensus, based on BOE member with Troy Gerten’s suggestion, was to officially wait until the 14th and if there are no matters of import, then the meeting will be canceled.

Mr. Vita remarked, “If this is, indeed, our last meeting I just want to take some time to say thank you to the board. It has been an honor and a privilege serving you and serving the district. I will be taking a break. If the district will have me back I will look to rejoining at some time in the near future but it has been an honor, it has been a privilege. Thank you so much.”

Mr. Bowman commented, “I would like to echo Mr. Vita’s sentiments. It certainly has been an honor and a pleasure, the three years that I have had the privilege of serving on the board. [It was] an eye-opening experience, to learn it, the inner workings of a school district and what it requires to actually . . . be a successful school district and to run that. Hopefully, the two new folks that are coming on will get up to speed there very quickly and again, it’s been a pleasure. I can’t top Mr. Vita because he went first. But thank you very much.”

With that, the meeting was adjourned with Mr. Vita making his final motion to end the meeting with Mr. Bowman making his final ‘second to a motion’.

Both members did not run for re-election this year. Their seats will be filled by newcomers Chad Hemenway and Matthew Leingang. Three seats were open and Christopher Miller was the only current board member to run for another term.

Mr. Bowman served the board for one term and Mr. Vita – who won a write-in campaign with 18 votes – had served the board since 2013 (article link).